If you have a fire or water emergency, please call us now at (866) 737-8899

To have the optimal experience while using this site, you will need to update your browser. You may want to try one of the following alternatives:

Fire & Water - Cleanup & Restoration

Categories of Water

10/1/2019 (Permalink)

high water in foreground with Dollar Store in the background Flood water containing contaminants that penetrate all porous materials with which it comes into contact.

Risks associated with exposure to different categories of water

Clean water, which is considered Category 1,  is almost always safe for consumption. Gray water, Category 2, has been used but does not contain gross contaminants.

Black water, Category 3, is dangerous to people and animals. Unless and until an authority declares the flood water as clean, you should assume it is black water. Learn precisely what that means below:

What Is It? 

The classification of water as “black” means that it has come into contact with harmful elements such as raw sewage. This rating means the water may contain all kinds of dangerous microbes, including bacteria, mold, fungi, and viruses. It may even include the norovirus, parasites, and other infectious material. 

Why Is Flood Water Classified This Way? 

When water enters your home after heavy rains, it’s not just water from the sky. Water damage also comes from overflowing sewage. That sewage can mix with the rainwater and contaminate everything it touches. 

Visit our website to learn more about sewage problems and the cleanup process. 


Other News

View Recent Posts